stem and root

Although I am but a lowly undergraduate student at a relatively high ranking university, I’ve found that my perspective on education differs significantly from my superiors. In a new major, I am asked for feedback on new courses and new teaching styles, and then am dismissed as being “too lazy” or “uninterested” to really understand why their way is the best way. They’ve been in research for decades, so when the time comes to talk about research, I will fully support deferring to them. But I’ve been in education for decades, and chances are, I know when an educational style isn’t working.

So far, I plan for this blog to be largely filled with observations as I make my way through a STEM education. There may also be more personal moments, or pictures of my cats. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

